Program Archive 2020

Getting organised in a digital world - An interview with Adam Grant

The working world is becoming increasingly digital. At the same time, it is becoming more and more difficult for many people to find meaning and motivation in their work. This is precisely the field of research of Adam Grant. He is Professor of Organizational Psychology at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, one of the most successful TED speakers and author of several bestsellers. 

A conversation between Adam Grant and Boris Tsimerinov, CEO, Semper8 about how we can make our lives more generous and creative in a digital world. 

Adam Grant

Organizational Psychologist, The Wharton School of Business; Bestselling Author; Host: WorkLife, a TED Original Podcast

Adam Grant has been Wharton’s top-rated professor for seven straight years. As an organizational psychologist, he studies how we can find motivation and meaning, and lead more generous and creative lives. He has been recognized as one of the world's 10 most influential management thinkers, Fortune's 40 under 40, and Oprah’s Super Soul 100.

He is the author of multiple #1 New York Times best-selling books that have sold over 2 million copies and been translated into 35 languages: Give and Take, Originals, Option B, and Power Moves. His books have been named among the year’s best by Amazon, the Financial Times, Harvard Business Review, and the Wall Street Journal and praised by J.J. Abrams, Richard Branson, Bill and Melinda Gates, Malcolm Gladwell, and Malala Yousafzai.

Grant's TED talks on original thinkers and givers and takers have been viewed more than 20 million times. He received a standing ovation at TED in 2016 and was voted the audience's favorite speaker at The Nantucket Project. His speaking and consulting clients include Google, the NBA, the Gates Foundation, and the World Economic Forum, where he has been honored as a Young Global Leader. He hosts "WorkLife", a chart-topping TED original podcast; writes on work and psychology for The New York Times; and serves on the Defense Innovation Board at the Pentagon. He has over 3 million followers on social media and shares monthly insights in his newsletter, GRANTED.

Grant was profiled in The New York Times Magazine cover story, "Is giving the secret to getting ahead?" He was tenured at Wharton while still in his twenties, and has received the Excellence in Teaching Award for every class that he has taught. He is the founder and host of the Authors@Wharton speaker series, and co-director of Wharton People Analytics. He curates the Next Big Idea Club along with Susan Cain, Malcolm Gladwell, and Dan Pink, handpicking two new books each quarter for subscribers and donating 100% of profits to provide books for children in under-resourced communities. He is also the cofounder of Givitas, a knowledge collaboration platform that makes it easy to give and receive help in five minutes a day, and an angel investor in startups in HR and culture, technology, and consumer products.

Grant earned his Ph.D. in organizational psychology from the University of Michigan, completing it in less than three years, and his B.A. from Harvard University, magna cum laude with highest honors and Phi Beta Kappa honors. He has received awards for distinguished scholarly achievement from the Academy of Management, the American Psychological Association, and the National Science Foundation. His pioneering research has increased performance and reduced burnout among engineers and sales professionals, enhanced call center productivity, and motivated safety behaviors among doctors, nurses and lifeguards. He is a former magician and Junior Olympic springboard diver, and lives in Philadelphia with his wife, two daughters, and son.

Boris Tsimerinov

CEO

Boris Tsimerinov leads Semper8 which currently consists of interconnected Semper8 Capital (an investment and advisory firm conducting family office private equity & VC investments; M&A and advisory projects; and, restructurings); Semper8 Health (start-up group, investment and advisory practice focused on healthcare; biotech; digital health; medical devices; and related sectors) and Semper8 Media (start-up group, investment and advisory practice focused on developing inclusive, innovative and thought-provoking content). He is also a global speaker, writer and educator.

Event details

English
Talks
online
digitalswitzerland

Programm Archiv 2020

Getting organised in a digital world - Ein Gespräch mit Adam Grant

Die Arbeitswelt wird immer digitaler. Gleichzeitig wird es für viele immer schwerer, Sinn und Motivation in der Arbeit zu finden. Genau das ist das Forschungsgebiet von Adam Grant. Er ist Professor für Organisationspsychologie an der Wharton School der Universität Pennsylvania, einer der erfolgreichsten TED-Referenten und Autor diverses Bestseller. Ein Gespräch zwischen Adam Grant und Boris Tsimerinov, CEO, Semper8, darüber, wie wir in einer digitalen Welt unser Leben grosszügiger und kreativer gestalten können.

Adam Grant

Organisationspsychologe, The Wharton School of Business; Bestsellerautor; Gastgeber: WorkLife, ein TED-Original-Podcast

Adam Grant ist seit sieben Jahren in Folge Whartons bestbewerteter Professor. Als Organisationspsychologe untersucht er, wie wir Motivation und Sinn finden und ein großzügigeres und kreativeres Leben führen können. Er wurde als einer der 10 einflussreichsten Management-Denker der Welt anerkannt, Fortune's 40 unter 40 und Oprah's Super Soul 100.
Er ist Autor mehrerer Bestseller der New York Times, die sich über 2 Millionen Mal verkauft haben und in 35 Sprachen übersetzt wurden: Geben und Nehmen, Originale, Option B und Power Moves. Seine Bücher wurden von Amazon, der Financial Times, der Harvard Business Review und dem Wall Street Journal zu den besten Büchern des Jahres gewählt und von J.J. Abrams, Richard Branson, Bill und Melinda Gates, Malcolm Gladwell und Malala Yousafzai gelobt.
Grants TED-Vorträge über ursprüngliche Denker und Geber und Nehmer wurden mehr als 20 Millionen Mal gesehen. Er erhielt 2016 beim TED eine stehende Ovation und wurde zum Lieblingsredner des Publikums beim Nantucket-Projekt gewählt. Zu seinen Vortrags- und Beratungskunden gehören Google, die NBA, die Gates Foundation und das Weltwirtschaftsforum, wo er als Young Global Leader geehrt wurde. Er moderiert "WorkLife", einen TED-Original-Podcast, der die Charts anführt, schreibt über Arbeit und Psychologie für die New York Times und ist Mitglied des Defense Innovation Board im Pentagon. Er hat über 3 Millionen Anhänger in sozialen Medien und gibt monatliche Einblicke in seinen Newsletter GRANTED.
Grant wurde in der Titelgeschichte des New York Times Magazine vorgestellt: "Ist es das Geheimnis, das Geheimnis zu verraten, um weiterzukommen? Er war bereits in seinen Zwanzigern an der Wharton University angestellt und hat für jede Klasse, die er unterrichtet hat, den Excellence in Teaching Award erhalten. Er ist der Gründer und Gastgeber der Rednerreihe Authors@Wharton und Co-Direktor von Wharton People Analytics. Zusammen mit Susan Cain, Malcolm Gladwell und Dan Pink kuratiert er den Next Big Idea Club, wählt jedes Quartal zwei neue Bücher für Abonnenten aus und spendet 100 % des Gewinns für die Bereitstellung von Büchern für Kinder in unterversorgten Gemeinden. Er ist auch Mitbegründer von Givitas, einer Plattform für Wissenszusammenarbeit, die es einfach macht, innerhalb von fünf Minuten am Tag Hilfe zu geben und zu erhalten, sowie ein Investor für Start-ups in den Bereichen Personal und Kultur, Technologie und Konsumgüter.
Grant erwarb seinen Doktortitel in Organisationspsychologie an der University of Michigan, den er in weniger als drei Jahren abschloss, und seinen B.A. an der Harvard University, magna cum laude mit höchsten Auszeichnungen und Phi Beta Kappa honors. Er hat Auszeichnungen für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen von der Academy of Management, der American Psychological Association und der National Science Foundation erhalten. Seine bahnbrechenden Forschungsarbeiten haben die Leistung gesteigert und das Burnout bei Ingenieuren und Vertriebsmitarbeitern verringert, die Produktivität von Callcentern erhöht und das Sicherheitsverhalten von Ärzten, Krankenschwestern und Rettungsschwimmern motiviert. Er ist ein ehemaliger Zauberer und Junior-Olympia-Sprungbretttaucher und lebt mit seiner Frau, seinen beiden Töchtern und seinem Sohn in Philadelphia.

Boris Tsimerinov

CEO

Boris Tsimerinov leitet Semper8, das derzeit aus den miteinander verbundenen Unternehmen Semper8 Capital (ein Investitions- und Beratungsunternehmen, das Family Office Private Equity & VC-Investitionen, M&A- und Beratungsprojekte sowie Umstrukturierungen durchführt), Semper8 Health (Start-up-Gruppe, Investitions- und Beratungspraxis mit Schwerpunkt auf Gesundheitswesen, Biotechnologie, digitale Gesundheit, medizinische Geräte und verwandte Sektoren) und Semper8 Media (Start-up-Gruppe, Investitions- und Beratungspraxis mit Schwerpunkt auf der Entwicklung integrativer, innovativer und zum Nachdenken anregender Inhalte) besteht. Außerdem ist er weltweit als Redner, Autor und Pädagoge tätig.

Event Details

Englisch
Talks
online
digitalswitzerland